FUCE is the European branch of the International Federation of Catholic Universities (IFCU).


Permanent secretary:
Mgr. Guy-Réal Thivierge

21, rue d'Assas
75270 PARIS cedex 06
Tel. +33 1 44 39 52 26,
Fax +33 1 44 39 52 28

"ICARIN", the IFCU-homepages: http://www.fiuc.org/


The Federation of European Catholic Universities or, in French, Fédération des Universités Catholiques Européennes (FUCE), was created in 1991 as a regional daughter organisation of IFCU (the International Federation of Catholic Universities).
The structure of FUCE is as follows.

The Rectors' Assembly is organized once a year. Recent venues were Bilbao in Spain (2002), Warsaw in Poland (2003), Eichstätt in Germany (2004) and Salamanca in Spain (2005), Lille, France (2006) and Namur, Belgium (2007), Roma (2008), Lisbon (2009).

Once every three years the Rectors elect a new Board. The present composition of the Board is as follows.
  • President: Prof. Michel Scheuer, Facultés Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix - FUNDP
  • Marceliano Arranz (UPC, Vice-President)
  • Tadeuz Klimski (Uniwersytet Kardynala Stefana Wyszynskiego, councillor)
  • Thérèse Lebrun (Université Catholique de Lille, councillor)
  • Rosa Nomen i Ribe (Universitat Ramon Llull, councillor)
  • J. Nassar (Université Saint-Joseph, councillor)
  • G. De Simone (Université du Latran, councillor)
You can find more information regarding the objectives, membership and the administration of FUCE in the statutes (only available in French).

To support the Rectors' meetings, the International Relations Managers of FUCE universities have regular meetings as well. The most recent occasions were Mons in Belgium (2001), Madrid in Spain (2002), Rome in Italy (2003), Paris in France (2004), Nijmegen in The Netherlands (2005), Lviv, Ukrania (2006).

During the meeting of the International Relations Managers in Lille (1997), a network of students of FUCE universities was created. The students of this network, called Stufuce, met each other several times and discussed about, respectively, the Catholic identity, aspects of organisation and communication within the network and the important function of local student associations.

In Milan (1999) the first steps were taken to create an academic student exchange network. The network was established in order to create a free movement of FUCE students among the member universities. All FUCE members can adhere to the network.

The European Ethics Network (EEN), created by FUCE in association with the universities of the Coimbra group, is a joint endeavour of the Centres for Teaching and Research in Ethics European universities. Recognized by the European Commission as a SOCRATES thematic network, EEN coordinates and stimulates research and teaching in ehtics within the participating institutions. Under the leadership of Prof. Michel Falise (President) and Prof. Johan Verstraeten (K.U. Leuven), EEN organizes yearly meetings of researchers and teaching staff and publishes the journal Ethical Perspectives.

During the Rectors' meetings in Leuven (1994) and Louvain-la-Neuve (1998), both in Belgium, a symposium was organised and afterwards the following books were published:
- La formation des personnes au sein des universités européennes aujourd'hui (Leuven 1994).
- L'université européenne, acteur de citoyenneté (Louvain-la-Neuve 1998)